Goodbye Facebook

Yesterday I deactivated my Facebook account. I also closed the various Facebook fan pages that I run. It’s basically the end of the road, as far as my time at Facebook goes.

To be honest, Facebook never really was a great success story for me. I had a small friends circle and I seemed to spend more time deleting friedns than making them. For some reason I just couldn’t get it to work for me. Ultimately I’ve came to the conclusion that, as a marketing tool, Facebook is grossly overrated. As a social platform I think it’s possibly even more overrated.

I’ll be disucssing my reaons for ditching Facebook in an upcoming show at http://www.dcradionetwork.com. In the meantime, here’s a quick rundown of some of my main reasons for leaving:

* Facebook’s new Timeline feature
* Other privacy and security concerns
* Too many people talking crap (I don’t care about your cat’s burping problem)
* Poor marketing returns
* Sneaky and unethical marketing tactics from Facebook

If I was to sum up Facebook with just three words then the words would be; sneaky, corporate, idiots. I look forward to discussing all of this in more detail at http://www.dcradionetwork.com. Hope to see you there.

2 comments

  1. Good for you! More of us need to ditch FB and start doing more productive things with our time! And from a marketing standpoint the ROI is very low from what I’ve seen.

    1. parkerandhobbes · · Reply

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

